Hiding Gridlines in Google Docs

This is how Google Spreadsheets normally look, gridlines and all.

Click View and select Hide Gridlines…

The gridlines disappear. Notice in the section below, however, that there are still lines. It might look like a blank box with a border, but that is only because these are cell borders that I added manually.

You can choose cell borders for one or more cells at a time by clicking the Borders button in the top-hand toolbar. These borders stick around even if you hide the gridlines.

I find the effect very pleasing. I’m sure you will, too.

Printing Google Spreadsheets without Gridlines

Note that if you want to print your Google Spreadsheet, the gridlines will come back, regardless if you’ve hidden them in the View menu.

No worries. You can still get rid of them for printing by checking No gridlines in the Print Settings dialog just before clicking Print.

Now, the printed version will be sans gridlines.

Conclusion

It’s straightforward to get rid of gridlines in Google Docs spreadsheets now! I have to say that I’m pretty happy about this; while I may still have to deal with Stink Bugs living out on the East coast, at least I won’t have to live with gridlines, no matter where I’m using Google Docs. Thanks again for your very-well written and illustrated tutorial! Rod Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

How to Hide Gridlines in Google Docs Spreadsheets - 43How to Hide Gridlines in Google Docs Spreadsheets - 62How to Hide Gridlines in Google Docs Spreadsheets - 23How to Hide Gridlines in Google Docs Spreadsheets - 78How to Hide Gridlines in Google Docs Spreadsheets - 19How to Hide Gridlines in Google Docs Spreadsheets - 60How to Hide Gridlines in Google Docs Spreadsheets - 61How to Hide Gridlines in Google Docs Spreadsheets - 13How to Hide Gridlines in Google Docs Spreadsheets - 5How to Hide Gridlines in Google Docs Spreadsheets - 82