Even Google recognized how lame this was and announced a half-baked idea about providing new business/contact cards to help spread the word.  Yeah, I know…Sounds like the Windows 7 Launch Parties. Anyway, Google knew that in order for the service to be more than just a cool gadget people played with but didn’t actually use Google would need to remove this key roadblock… and that that’s just what they did tonight with a new upgrade to Google Voice. Effective immediately, Google voice will now allow you to leverage your existing mobile number to take advantage of select features of the service.  The list of features available include:

Google VoicemailVoicemail TranscriptionCustom Voicemail GreetingsInternational CallingMobile Apps

  More features can be found here for “Google Voice Feature w/Google Number Vs. Non-Google Number.”  Also, please note that only the following carriers are officially supported at this time: Alltel, AT&T, Cricket Wireless, MetroPCS, Sprint, T-Mobile, US Cellular, and Verizon. Obviously, the largest feature here is the integration of Google Voicemail, Transcription, and Custom Voicemail Greetings.  Here’s a quick Voicemail from Google Voice:

Enable Google Voice Integration w/Existing Mobile Phone Number

  1. Log in to Google Voice, click Settings then click Activate Google voicemail for this phone. Note: The option will only be available for Mobile Numbers.

2.   Select the Mobile Carrier from the Drop Down

3.   Follow the instructions you’re given on your Mobile Phone

I’ve not enabled the service on my iPhone yet but since it appears simple to disable, I’m sure I’ll play around with it tomorrow. What about you? Have you tried it out yet? Would love to hear your feedback! Do you still need a google voice invite? What happens when you use an existing number but don’t like it? Can you move back to your google voice number I’ve been using other google services like gmail since they were created, so send an invite by to my email below and I’ll be glad to return the favor and give my invites out as well. My E-Mail: sow_pubicn@rcpt.at Thanks for anyone willing to lend me one, I will surely make excellent use of it! I’m all out of invites however keep an eye on this thread – https://www.groovypost.com/howto/google/google-v…. As people donate more invites you can try and be the first to reply to get one. Gluck! Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

How to Enable Google Voice With Your Existing Number - 63How to Enable Google Voice With Your Existing Number - 83How to Enable Google Voice With Your Existing Number - 29How to Enable Google Voice With Your Existing Number - 28How to Enable Google Voice With Your Existing Number - 16How to Enable Google Voice With Your Existing Number - 35How to Enable Google Voice With Your Existing Number - 21