Download a Windows 10 ISO

To download the image file, you’ll need to go to Microsoft’s website. From there, under the “Create Windows 10 Installation Media” section click the “Download tool now” button. That will download the media creation tool.

Run the tool and accept the EULA to kick off the wizard. When it starts check “Create installation media…” and click Next.

Next, select the language, architecture, and edition of Windows 10 you want to download. The options will be grayed out unless you uncheck the box next to “Use the recommended options for this PC” and click Next.

After that, select ISO file and click Next.

Then choose a location to download the ISO on your computer and click Save.

Then wait while your Windows 10 ISO is downloaded. The file is around 4.5GB and the amount of time it takes will depend on your data connection speed.

After the Windows 10 ISO file has downloaded to the location you chose a link to the location will show up on the tool so you can open it directly. Or just click the Finish button to close out of the media creation tool.

For more on learning to use new features in Windows 10, make sure to check out our archive of Windows 10 articles. And for an in-depth conversation about all things Windows 10, join the free Windows 10 Forums. I added an update to the beginning of this article so everyone is aware of that, and what the official word from Microsoft is about doing a clean install. That said, here’s a full comparison. – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_10_editions#Comparison_chart I presume all files will be lost doing this clean install? Cheers Right after I go through the “When you use the option to create installation media, select your language, edition (Home or Pro) and the the Architecture (32 or 64-bit)” process, it tells me that I need 6gb of space. This may be due to the fact that I have Win7 in a small 32gb SSD, but also have a 1tb HDD drive. I want to create a Linux boot on the 32gb drive, and a windows boot on the other drive. Any ideas on how I can go about accomplishing this? Cheers! “Important Note: You have to go through the upgrade process before doing a clean install. That makes your valid Windows 7 or 8.1 key associate with your Windows Account.” but if i download the iso, then run setup.exe, then install as dual boot, will it work? i also upgraded a previous pc on my current microsoft account, will this affect my current pc? Don’t download the ‘N’ versions, if you are in the U.S. They are European versions. Don’t try to download ‘both’ 32 bit and 64 bit versions, unless you’re using a USB. They won’t fit on a DVD! You must pick either ‘Home’ or ‘Pro’, and either 32 or 64 bit. Thanks!!! I have an old laptop which came with OEM Vista. I had then purchased an upgrade version of Windows 8 for it and had upgraded the same to Windows 10 last year. Now I don’t have the original Windows Vista Media that came with the laptop and when I try to do the fresh install using the Windows 8 Product Key, it gives out an error saying that this product key is for upgrade only. Any pointers on how I can get this sorted. Thanks.. I will be honest I am a bit concerned of downloading software programs but Just to clarify this isnt going to mess up my computer, for example some software has a virus or spyware hidden in it. I wont need a key to activate it the article says. So with this , it will pretty much already be fully activated? If i have to reset my computer will it go back to windows 8.1 or windows 10? Sorry for all the questions but I know microsoft wont care I didnt get my computer fix in time and I am definitely not spending any money on buying it. I hope someone can write me back soon In desperation I installed Windows 7 first as I had a copy of that handy but, once I’ve gone through the rigmarole of downloading the installer as shown above I get a typical meaningless Microsoft error code 0x80190194 – 0x90018. I’m only trying to install this OS for a friend and have NEVER encountered so many difficulties simply trying to get hold of a copy!!! Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

How to Download a Windows 10 ISO File - 53How to Download a Windows 10 ISO File - 34How to Download a Windows 10 ISO File - 72How to Download a Windows 10 ISO File - 98How to Download a Windows 10 ISO File - 89How to Download a Windows 10 ISO File - 95How to Download a Windows 10 ISO File - 4How to Download a Windows 10 ISO File - 12How to Download a Windows 10 ISO File - 3How to Download a Windows 10 ISO File - 68