Clear Outlook Autocomplete Caches

Here’s an example:

As convenient as the AutoComplete feature is, there are times when you need to remove these cached email addresses from the cache. For example, perhaps someone at work just lost his/her job, and the email address is no longer valid. Or maybe you made a typo while sending an email and now that address is stuck in your cache. The good news is getting rid of that address from your auto-c cache is simple no matter the version of Outlook (2003, 2007, or 2010.) Just follow the steps below. Solution: The fix is easy: Solution #2 (Nuclear Bomb): This is another option if you want to delete all addresses in the cache file (outlook.nk2).  Note, Solution #2 is for Outlook 2003 and 2007 only.  Read this post to clear the AutoComplete in 2010.

Solution #2 is comparable to the “Nuclear Bomb” being that it will delete all your cached email addresses.  It should only be used if you want to wipe the file clean or if you have corruption issues with your .nk2 file.  Once you delete the .nk2 file, then the next time you open Outlook it will automatically create a new .nk2 cache file, and Outlook will once again begin caching the email addresses you use. But what if all you want to do is disable the Outlook Auto Complete entirely? Easy. I wrote about disabling the Autocomplete for Outlook 2010 and Outlook 2003 and 2007 earlier. Take a look there, and you should be good to go! This clears everything out so you can start fresh :) Glad to see the article helped you out. You can find the checkbox here: https://www.groovypost.com/howto/microsoft/outlook/disable-microsoft-outlook-2007-and-2003-email-auto-complete/ That article is how to disable it however Step 3 will lead you to the setting. Just make sure it’s checked (enabled). Thanks for your help. Dan Also, it might be easier Prashanth to move this conversation into the Forum. Keeps from getting the comment system here to cluttered. The process is simple, in fact I’ve already written a how-to on disabling the auto complete feature for outlook 2003 and 2007. Here’s the URL: https://www.groovypost.com/howto/microsoft/outlook/disable-microsoft-outlook-2007-and-2003-email-auto-complete/ If you want to continue troubleshooting the problem, please create a thread here: https://www.groovypost.com/forum/microsoft-office-f54.html This comment system is not a great “forum” for troubleshooting issues. I can’t believe that expertsexchange.com (Expert Sex Change) charges for someone to read how to do this! I think your post should be #1 in the search. Those guys are a joke. Just my opinion on that, well said and helped me out a lot! Maybe I will stop sending e-mails going to my new boss to my old one. My fault for not finding one named differently. Take care, Chad R. Smith President of Get A Supplier INC http://www.getasupplier.com Thanks Groovy Tried both options above. No can do. The extenstions that show up in option 2 are: .dat and .srs no .nk2 Help! Thanks Groovy Bruce Thanks, you are a life saver my friend and you rock! At the time of this writing, the latest version of NK2View is 1.20. After you download the software, just run it from any folder and it should find your NK2 file. You have a few options to either Save the list of emails into a TEXT file or copy them into your address book. You can also point the app at another Outlook .NK2 file and convert it as you like. Hope this help! Thankyou! I keep sending emails to people I don’t want to because of this and it is very frustrating. Any ideas? However, if your using Outlook via POP3 or IMAP and not with Exchange, then it will be stored in your PST file. I’m thinking perhaps your using an older style PST file (ANSI) and not the new PST file (UNICODE). My suggestion would be to create a new PST file, sync your mail and try again. Here’s more info on that: https://www.groovypost.com/forum/microsoft-office/how-to-convert-old-pst-ansi-to-new-unicode-pst-format-t95921.html This is really interesting so if you could test out this theory, that would be great. That being said, if you created this PST file when you installed Outlook 2010, it will be Unicode so…. might not be much more to try then… i just want to know how to recover my addresses in address bar i just make offline address book after all disappear addresses in the address bar , how i use same like before thanks waiting your reply Great job Thank you Deric Is there a way to add them in bulk? thanks Outlook.exe /CleanAutoCompleteCache and click (as per picture below) Found here: http://cyberst0rm.blogspot.com/2011/07/how-to-clear-autocomplete-list-in.html thanks for the article. I have a curious problem. While I knew about the caching behaviour as described by you, I have the following problem at one of my installs. I have deleted one certain address from the suggestions list because Outlook seems to have that address wrong. The respective address is not part of any contact information and after I deleted it it doesn’t pop up when typing the address. But as soon as I leave the To-field the address gets converted to the old, damaged address which should have been deleted. Any ideas, why this happens? Thanks a lot! Hope we get an answer. Welcome to groovyPost! Thnx for the comment! Now if you could tell me why my contacts do not show up when I want to just click and add them to an e-mail. None show up… I found your post on how to delete a auto completed email- This worked. Solution: The fix is easy: Inside Outlook, Type the email address you wish to clear from the cache until outlook displays it as shown above. Press the down arrow key to select the email address and press the delete button. All Done. That entry should now be gone from the Outlook Auto-complete cache. Now I tried this, but maybe because our version is “office”, I did not see a file named “outlook.nk2. Solution #2 (Nuclear Bomb) : Another option if you want to delete all addresses in the cache file (outlook.nk2). Note, Solution #2 is for Outlook 2003 and 2007 only. The other issue I have is I created a “distribution list” and named this list, and when I go to create an email, and beginning typing the name of this list, my system is not picking this name up at all? So I would like to maybe clear out the complete autocomplete file if possible and figure out why my system is not picking up the name in my contact list now? Many thanks for any help you can provide. I can highlight and delete names but as soon as I turn the computer off and then back on again they reappear. I can’t seem to find the Outlook.nk2 file either? There are some similar situations described above, but none of those solutions applied. I have a client whose contact was originally entered by what must have been a functional illiterate. Whenever I “reply” to the client, the misspelled address populates. I have corrected the contact and entered a correct spelling, but this dinosaur keeps popping up when I reply. The bad address does not show up when typing the first few letters in the “To:” field. The correct one does. The bad address appears in format ” ‘Name’ .” The good one is in standard format. Where else can I go to purge this vexation? Windows 7 Enterprise, OL 2010 Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

How To Clear the Outlook Email Address Auto Complete Cache - 20How To Clear the Outlook Email Address Auto Complete Cache - 10How To Clear the Outlook Email Address Auto Complete Cache - 33How To Clear the Outlook Email Address Auto Complete Cache - 85How To Clear the Outlook Email Address Auto Complete Cache - 70