But then, I re-read the groovyPost we wrote up a few months back on how-to shorten the bookmarks to just a favicon with Firefox and tried it out with Google Chome.  Yahoo!  Good news:

Simple remove the name from your bookmarks and it’ll just show the favicon, giving you even more room to add shortcuts. For me, all I need is the icon to remember where the bookmark takes me. To do this, either leave the Name: field blank when creating a new bookmark, or Right-click an existing bookmark, choose Edit… and clear the Name: field.

The same process works using Camino, Safari and Firefox, too. Groovy! Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

groovyTip  Display Favicon Only to Fit More onto Chrome Bookmarks Bar - 36groovyTip  Display Favicon Only to Fit More onto Chrome Bookmarks Bar - 36groovyTip  Display Favicon Only to Fit More onto Chrome Bookmarks Bar - 14groovyTip  Display Favicon Only to Fit More onto Chrome Bookmarks Bar - 43groovyTip  Display Favicon Only to Fit More onto Chrome Bookmarks Bar - 63groovyTip  Display Favicon Only to Fit More onto Chrome Bookmarks Bar - 66