Everyone has a program out there that they love to hate. It could be a program you’re forced to use at work, or maybe a home program that doesn’t have a good alternative. Perhaps it’s just software that you’ve given up because you managed to find a suitable replacement. Whatever the case, we want to hear in the comments section below. What do you think the worst software in the world might be? The software that receives the most complaints will receive a groovyPost Award for the Worst Software of 2012 and earn a place among the top ten apps/programs to avoid coming soon. Hey @disqus_8H4zdmnIVx:disqus / @mrgroove:disqus — is AV built into Windows 8? If you want to check out more about that, here’s an article I wrote up about it: http://goo.gl/CtnVg I like that….. Have you seen how many processes iTunes installs and runs in the background? Here they are: AppleMobileBackup.exe AppleMobileDeviceHelper.exe AppleMobileDeviceService.exe AppleMobileSync.exe distnoted.exe iPodService.exe iTunesHelper.exe iTunesPhotoProcessor.exe MDCrashReportTool.exe mDNSResponder.exe SyncServer.exe qttask.exe dotmacsyncclient.exe And that doesn’t even include the 6 or 7 sync processes that are installed if you try to tie it into your Outlook or webmail contacts. It’s almost as if Apple purposefully made iTunes bad, I’ve heard it is better on Mac but that doesn’t make it excusable. While we’re at it, Safari for Windows is also terrible. Apple went as far as to entirely stop updating it about a year ago. Here’s an article I wrote on it: https://www.groovypost.com/howto/sick-of-itunes-intall-foobar2000/ Otherwise, I still have my collection of Music stored on my Home Server, then most of the time I use the streaming service MOG — https://www.groovypost.com/reviews/mog-windows-desktop/ — I like it better than Spotify, it streams at a higher bitrate, and has most of the music I need. Is iTunes any better on the MAC? Anyone? My daughter bought me an iPad Mini for Christmas and I want to synchronise the calendar on it with my PC. I have tried to use iTunes to do it but it just doesn’t do what the instructions say it should. It might work OK for music but it’s absolutely useless for anything serious. I have an Android based (Samsung) phone and synchronising that with my PC, using Samsung Kies, is an absolute breeze. or better yet, set Chrome as your default PDF reader — https://www.groovypost.com/howto/howto/set-chrome-pdf-reader/ Sumatra is the best out there now: https://www.groovypost.com/reviews/sumatrapdf-free-windows-portable-browser-pdf-reader/ (although I still prefer Chrome as you said) Chrome is my default but IE 10 metro in my Win 8 tablet. It works. Super confusing. Very annoying trying to start out on it. But my real favorite, the disk management tool I tried years ago which quickly and effortlessly let me erase my hard disk – which I had not intended to do. Bad on me. Rant over. I’ve got to back to pretending to use it now. I remember working on that for a client back…. 20 years ago. Is that still around? wow… https://www.groovypost.com/howto/download-amazon-kindle-ebooks-different-devices/ https://www.groovypost.com/howto/kindle-fire-put-music-on-tablet/ https://www.groovypost.com/reviews/amazon-cloud-player-scan-match/ I guess I am not sure if you can put music on the regular Kindle Reader or not? Which version of the Nano do you have? Every year they bug me like hell to upgrade to the next version. I say “Why, Quicken runs great already!”. So, to get even they timebomb me and after two years drop all bank update support so I “HAVE” to upgrade. GAH!!!!! Die Intuit! ok. I feel better. Just because it tries to bundle AskToolbar (but doesn’t force or trick you) and updates frequently to fix security issues (which you get in programming languages) does not mean it is the worst software out there. Ok looks like we will do a roundup of best cloud backup solutions OK. Thnx for the comment. I know backup is a hot topic for readers. A good warning in this JUSTCLOUD. As an IT engineer, I can name in a second flat the worst crapware ever written. AOL Desktop It does as much for Apples reputation as Windows Vista did for MS ! Can I sue apple for wiping my music collection again ? Windows 8. Have you ever tried to explain the Start screen, charms, and hot corners to someone who just purchased a new laptop without touch? What do you tell them when they can’t play DVDs out of the box? Adobe Flash and Java. Great technologies, but age and popularity have taken their toll in the security department. Web Browsers. It’s awesome we have a choice, but with so many web browsers (and their 20+ versions a piece) makes it hell on a web developer and e-commerce! Throwing in smartphones and tablets only puts more fuel on the fire. Why can’t the world ever be perfect where websites render the same under all available web browsers?! Well, let me nominate the true winner–Family Tree Maker for Mac 2. It’s the ONLY mac software that links family trees (ha! more in a minute) to ancestry.com. No choices. Why is it so bad? Here we go… Unless you are one of the golden few who simply are lucky, you will find this product:

  1. Suddenly unlinks synced trees and grandly tells you that the online tree is deleted. Of course, it’s not and you can even find the online tree still on ancestry. That online tree will still think it is synced, too.
  2. Creates duplicates of individuals unexpectedly and will not find them when you run the “find duplicates” app on the program. Somehow, I sort of expected individuals with the same name, birthdate, parents and maybe death date would appear as potential duplicates. Nope.
  3. The program crashes constantly for no apparent reason. Then, when reopened, you can expect to find that your previously clean file has acquired errors. Sometimes you are lucky and able to close the program before it crashes. That may still give you an error message about not closing it correctly next time you use it.
  4. Dont expect any help from the developers or ancestry.com here. Oh, they will make the non subtle suggestion that you just are making beginner errors and give you a huge list of things to try, but they don’t work. I have gone the long route around, following their suggestions and wasted hours and hours trying to fix the problems. Lucky me–all the problems are still there, even though I followed the instructions to the letter. So there is my nomination, folks. You can easily see the scope of the problem by googling “problems with ftm for mac 2” or “problems with syncing trees with ftm mac 2” or any such variation. I am sure there must be some huge, expensive prize for my submission of this drek camouflaged as software. I hereby ask that any monetary reward be dedicated to FIXING THE STUPID PROGRAM. Cordially yours, Barbara Smith You’re an IT engineer and you didn’t say IE6! IE6 is by far the worst, so bad when designing websites the whole lot has to be pretty much re-written just to render properly for ie6. Windows 8 as well. But yes, I agree with other comments, iTunes is very very bad. Absolute ridiculous to work with. Millions screens, no direct printing (save to a file which you have to find and then print, even checks), no financials direct to the system. There is nothing worse I ever worked with. If you want something that works right out of the box Made2Manage is your favorite. D. Stahl … ……. ……….REALPLAYER! I see it still refuses to die off too…Save us! Geopak Geopak Bentley Microstation Geopak… it’s just f*ing awful. Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Ask the Readers  What s the Worst Software You Can Think Of  - 89Ask the Readers  What s the Worst Software You Can Think Of  - 28Ask the Readers  What s the Worst Software You Can Think Of  - 9Ask the Readers  What s the Worst Software You Can Think Of  - 25