The Apple Watch is still big, bigger than what most people would want to wear, and doesn’t do anything that your iPhone can’t do already. This accessory starts at $349 and is said to be available early next year.

Does the Smartwatch Even Matter?

This is my brief and cynical look at the purpose of a smartwatch:  You pair it with your smartphone just to get the exact same notifications you get on the phone itself. And, 95% of those notifications tell you to go to your phone anyway. The size of these watches is ridiculous, and most people (in the US anyway) have stopped wearing watches. We’re already glued to our phones which give us the time already. All tech companies are hopping on this smartwatch bandwagon. So far we’ve seen watches for Android aka Android Wear from companies like Samsung, LG, and Motorola. This week we saw the Apple Watch – heck, even BlackBerry has announced it’s working on one. Microsoft is said to be working on one as well, that will be cross-platform and be more like a band type of thing, not a clunky square gadget – according to “those close to the situation.” The smartwatch has been tried already going back several years, and never caught on. To learn more about the genesis of the smartwatch, check out this Wikipedia post. So, are they going to catch on this time, or be the next technology fad?

Currently I don’t see a market for these since you need to have your phone with you for them to work. After a few years, maybe they will become untethered and act more of an independent device. But now, I see no need for them – much like Google Glass – and wouldn’t recommend getting one — yet. But what do I know? After all, when the iPad first came out I dismissed it as well. And have owned four different models of it since they were released. What I your take? Do you use or plan on using a smartwatch? Are you salivating over the chance to spend $349+ for the Apple Watch? Or are you like me, and could care less about the smartwatch, no matter who is offering them. Leave a comment below and let your voice be heard. I say the moment I have to take off my watch to leave it to charge before I go to bed is the moment technology just goes too far. Plus they (Apple anyway) was touting how great it is for runners and cyclists. I guess I don’t know a whole lot of professional style runners that want to bring the phone with them, plus wear a clunky watch at the same time while running. If you get the new iPhone and watch…that is a lot of money to worry about falling on the road, getting lost…falling off a bike…etc.. Personally, I kinda like it. Then again, I was also a huge fan of the original “smart” watch — the Timex Datalink. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p3Pzxmq-JLM I owned that watch way way back in the 90’s. It was really amazing…. back then. Today however, as Brian pointed out, we already have all the data in our pocket so I see it more of a Jewelry piece than anything practical. So for those into watches and bling, I’m sure it will be popular. For me, I’ll wait and see how Apple innovates with it. I’m sure they will probably come out with some exclusive apps for the platform. When I thought an Apple Watch could replace an iPhone, I was only slightly interested. Now, it doesn’t seem to make sense at all. It’s like getting a bike, but in order to ride the bike, you need to tow your car behind it. Well, it’s not exactly like that, but it seems ridiculous either way. Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Ask the Readers  Do you Even Care About the Smartwatch  - 20Ask the Readers  Do you Even Care About the Smartwatch  - 87Ask the Readers  Do you Even Care About the Smartwatch  - 16